You want to deactivate your Twitter account. Perhaps you want to take a break from Twitter or maybe you are fed up with some tweet spammers. Whatever be the reason, you should know some important points about what happens when you deactivate your account in Twitter.
Things to consider before you deactivate your Twitter account
- If you do not sign back in to your Twitter account within 30 days of deactivation, your account wil be deleted.
- Anyone including your followers will not be able to view your profile information and tweets after you have deactivated your account.
- After deactivation, your account will be removed from Twitter within a few minutes, but some content might remain visible for a few days.
- Account deactivation will not instantly remove tweets and some other information indexed by search engines like Google, Yahoo, Bing etc. But these may be removed after some time from the search engines.
How to deactivate your Twitter account?
Sign in to your Twitter account, then go to the accounts settings page at https://twitter.com/settings/account. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Deactivate my account.
You will see a page as shown below. In this page Twitter gives you information about account deactivation. Click on the blue button showing Deactivate @YourUsername.
Now, Twitter will ask you to enter your password to complete the deactivation process. Enter your password and click on Deactivate account.
You will see a message showing You account is now deactivated.
After deactivation, your profile information and tweets are removed and are not visible to anybody including your followers. You will not appear in the accounts of other Twitter users. Your followers will not be able to see your profile and they cannot interact with you.
Twitter gives you 30 days to reactivate your account in case you change your mind. You can reactivate your account by logging back into your Twitter account from your Computer within 30 days of deactivation. You cannot reactivate your account from a mobile device.
Remember that, if you do not log back into your Twitter account from a desktop within 30 days of deactivating your account, your account will be permanently deleted and you will not be able to recover your Twitter account and data such as tweets, followers, etc.